Go To Search
Click to Home


City Hall
P.O. Box 2315
480 East Ave. N.
Ketchum, ID  83340
Ph: 208.726.3841
Fax: 208.726.8234
About Our Water
Water Sources
City of Ketchum municipal water originates from six wells that vary in depth from 35 to 110 feet deep.  Five of these wells are located in close proximity to the Big Wood River and pump water from the Big Wood aquifer.  The remaining sixth well is located near Sun Valley Resort and pumps water from the Trail Creek aquifer.  Water pumped from these wells is treated with a light dose of chlorine to sanitize the drinking water against microbial contaminants. 

Water is pumped into storage reservoirs daily, with a total capacity of 3 million gallons available for domestic, irrigation and fire protection needs.

All well and reservoir sites are monitored and controlled electronically for flow, pressure and other parameters to ensure efficient and reliable operation.

Municipal Water SystemTypical Municipal Water System Well
showing pump control valves and
metering accessories.










Water Conservation Schedule

All City water customers are required to comply with Water Conservation Ordinance Number 587 restricting lawn watering as follows:

The sprinkling or watering of outdoor plantings such as grass, lawns, gardens, ground cover, shrubbery, trees or other landscaping shall be prohibited between the hours of 10:00 am and 5:00 pm daily, during the annual time period beginning June 15 and ending September 1. 

Exceptions may apply if you are using drip or bubbler style irrigation systems, or if you have new plantings, contact the Utilities Department office at (208) 726-7825 to receive an exemption.

Commercial nurseries are specifically excluded from the prohibitions and restrictions of this ordinance.

Sprinkling Restrictions - City Ordinance 587

Resources
Click on the following links for other useful information:

Applications
Rates
Water Reports


Contact Us
Robyn Mattison, P.E.
Public Works Director/City Engineer
rmattison@ketchumidaho.org

Brian Christiansen
Street Superintendent
bchristiansen@ketchumidaho.org

Pat Cooley
Interim Water Supervisor
pcooley@ketchumidaho.org

Mick Mummert
Wastewater Supervisor
mmummert@ketchumidaho.org

Juerg Stauffacher
Facilities Maintenance Supervisor
jstauffacher@ketchumidaho.org


Streets Division &
Facilties Maintenance
streets@ketchumidaho.org
PO Box 2315
200 Tenth Street
Ketchum, ID 83340
PH:
FAX:    
208.726.7831
208.726.7843

Utilities Division
utilities@ketchumidaho.org
PO Box 2315
110 River Ranch Rd.
Ketchum, ID 83340

PH:
Emerg:
FAX:
208.726.7825
208.726.7833
208.726.7827